Female Troubles

Women are a mystery to me that I’ll never solve. No matter the age, I just don’t understand their minds. Almost like they are not just a different gender, but also a separate species. All of my romantic relationships have been dysfunctional, partly from me choosing evil women and partly from incompatibility with some. I’ve done somewhat better at friendships, but even those don’t last or we really don’t get that close. I don’t see my troubles with females ending, but there is still a spark of hope. I did have a couple strange encounters in the last week that I’d like to write about.

Last Sunday, a car drove up to my campsite and the driver got out. He asked if I was the camphost and I said that was me. He informed me that he was dropping off one of my campers. She had gotten overly drunk and was thrown out of both the bars in Camp Nelson. He said that she was a young, hot redhead and I thought I better take a look at her. None of my campers matched that description. So I walked over to the passenger side of the car and said Hi to her. She was gorgeous and did look exactly like a woman that I had a crush on 40 years ago.I asked her if she was here with a group of friends or a husband. Her eyes were rolling around in her head from drunkenness, but she quickly declared that she had never been married and was solo. Well, none of my campers were missing and no solo campers were scheduled in the campground that day. I told the man that and he asked if that meant I wasn’t claiming her? I laughed and said No, that I wasn’t looking for any trouble in my life. So he took her back to one of the bars to figure out where she belonged.

I posted about the incident on Facebook and wondered what the rest of the story was. A couple days later, I stopped into the local grocery store and Nancy (the cashier) told me that I was smart to not have anything to do with that woman. Nancy is a Facebook friend and had read my post. I asked if she knew more about the redhead and she told me more info about her. She had showed up a few days earlier in a car with Maine plates and had started her drinking binge. She had been hitting on many of the men in the bars, married or not, telling them all the nasty things that she could do to them in bed. One guy did take her home for one night, but the other nights she slept in her car at one of the bars. The girlfriends and spouses of the men were getting quite pissed at her flirting with the men. The man who brought her to the campground had put her back in her own car, told her to sleep it off, and then suggested it was best that she leave town the next morning. Which she did apparently, because she hasn’t been seen here ever since. Missed my chance! Lol More likely, missed my chance to get fired from my camphost job, judging by the drama she would likely bring.

On Friday, a family showed up to camp for just one night, at the campsite across from me. There were 4 black kids, a black mom, and her white boyfriend. They were super nice and friendly, and I ended up spending some time in conversation with them. But it was the 15-16 year old daughter that wanted to monopolize my attention. She was very cute, but jailbait for me. She asked about a couple nearby walks that they could go on, and I told her about 2 of my favorite trails. Off they went, returning later in the day. She came right over to me, saying that she was all sweaty and wondered where a good place to swim was. I told her about the swimming hole at the bottom of the campground and she got all excited. She changed into swimwear and then came to me again, saying that no one in her family wanted to swim and wondered if I wanted to go with her. Alarm bells went off in my mind and I told her that I wouldn’t have time, since I had to do paperwork for my job (true but it wasn’t essential to do immediately). I mean, what teenaged girl invites an old man to go swimming with her? She seemed disappointed but managed to talk a couple of her younger brothers into going with her. They came back in an hour, dripping wet, and she was an eyeful! Though I managed not to stare.

I chatted with the family a couple times the next morning and they needed a jump-start for their car, since someone had left a door ajar. They stayed around until noon, which is check-out time. They were all in the car, when the daughter exclaimed that she had to say goodbye to Dan (me). She came running over and I thought she was going to hug or  kiss me, for a second. But she grabbed my hand with both of hers, and told me that she had an awesome time and was going to get her family to come up again, later this summer. She said goodbye and waved several times as they drove out.

It’s likely she is always that outgoing and affectionate, not meaning anything by it. But I feel sorry for her mom, on trying to control her when she hits the dating scene. She has the looks and personality to get almost anyone that she wants. But seems genuinely nice, as well. I could see a strong resemblance to her mom, though the mother is more reserved. If the mom didn’t already have a boyfriend, she would be a prize herself, even with 4 kids.

There’s a lot more that I could say about females, but just wanted to memorialize a couple unforgettable characters that I’ve met. One bad, and one good. It would be interesting to knew how the redhead and the black girl live out their lives.

Leave a comment