Dangers In Mexico

I’ve already alluded to a couple dangers that I’ve noticed, since coming here on vacation. But I thought I’d dedicate a whole post to things that could get me in trouble. It’s not possible to anticipate everything. But I remember some from past trips and heard about some new ones lately.

Puerto Vallarta is a good-sized city, but I don’t go everywhere in it. I mostly stay within 10 blocks of the coastline. Further inland than that is almost exclusively Mexican-only neighborhoods, without many landmarks of interest. Some of them are where the poor live, slums in essence. I would stand out and could be a mark. Not that most Mexicans are dishonest or looking to harm a tourist. But some are, and I’d rather be where police and tourists are plentiful to feel a bit safer.
Being in a large city, there is a chance of being robbed or pickpocketed. I don’t go out much after dark, preferring to be in my hotel reading or writing. That lessens my risk. When I go somewhere during the day, I mostly stay on the busier streets and remain alert to what’s happening around me. My wallet and passport are in front pockets with zippers or velcro, and my cellphone is so heavy that I’d notice if it was taken. There is a current local scam, where one person distracts you, while 1-2 others are stealing your bags or emptying your pockets. Often, the scam starts with someone squirting ketchup on your shirt. Another tries to help you remove the ketchup, meanwhile your belongings are being stolen. The main targets are older tourists with bags and purses. I doubt I’ll be targeted that way.

There is a real danger of spraining or breaking an ankle, if not watching one’s footing constantly. The sidewalks are quite uneven; with steps, missing meter covers, dog poo, drainage channels, and so on. Crossing a street can be equally bad. They are paved with large, round rocks and have frequent holes. Some get flooded because of rain, sewer leaks, or broken water pipes. Then, it’s hard to see your footing.
Drivers are unpredictable. Usually they give way to a pedestrian if traffic is light, or if there is a stop light or sign. But you can’t always count on it. I almost got knocked down by a speeding motorcycle today, who cornered without signaling. This is a problem anywhere, but you could be waiting a long time when waiting for perfect conditions to cross an intersection or road, because of the heavy traffic here. I assess the risks and try to make decisive moves, so the drivers have no doubt where I’m going. And I have to run, at times, trying not to trip or break an ankle!

The only animals I’m concerned about are crocodiles. A lot of them got washed downstream from a nature refuge in the last hurricane, and from what I’ve read, few weeks pass without an attack on a human. Most attacks fail, but I don’t want to even go through a close call! They don’t go far from water, so I stay alert when walking near water. Luckily, they are mostly nocturnal and the attacks tend to happen after dark. People swimming in the ocean or walking along the river at night are the most at risk. Local authorities estimate there are close to 1000 adults in the river or in the ocean near the river’s mouth. But even a juvenile or baby can cause trouble.
I haven’t met an aggressive dog yet. They may bark at each other or yip if you startle them, but I’ve never felt in danger. There are lots of strays that are wandering the streets, looking for food. They coexist with people, but aren’t begging or looking for a pat on the head. They don’t roam in packs. Plenty of stray cats, too. I wonder if many get eaten by the crocodiles? There are monkeys in the jungle nearby, but I’ve never seen one in the city. Probably other animals and snakes out there, that don’t make it into the urban areas. Another reason to stay close to the beaches.

Speaking of dangerous animals, women could be among them. It’s primarily the ones looking to exchange sex for money that prey on men here. Just tonight at dusk, there was a young woman sitting on a doorstep across the street that beckoned me over to her, calling out something that I didn’t understand. I waved back, didn’t answer, and kept walking. She kept calling after me. Another one walked by me in the morning, raising her eyebrows and pointing up. I assume that was an invitation for me to take her to my room.
The massage therapists do their best to entice me into their lairs, both legit and the sketchy type. But I’m not positive even on the legit-seeming ones. There are many dozens of massage parlors throughout the city. Some cater to women, being attached to a beauty salon or using wording that would appeal to females. They aren’t cheap, few are under $30 per hour. Tips are extra, especially if one is looking for more than a massage (which I’m not). And I’m definitely not tempted by any of the gay male masseuses.

When I stayed in Puerto Vallarta years ago, there were often ladies of the night who were in the same hotel as me. Some looked underage. They would peek into my room through the open windows They would ask if I was interested in some bed exercise. Never took any up on the offers, though they were usually pretty. Some were persistent. I don’t think that would happen at my current hotel. It is family-run and such behavior would likely be frowned upon. Could be wrong, though. One of the desk clerks wears a lot of make-up and dresses a bit scantily. Her painted-on eyebrows scare me. Another one is older (45?) but has been talkative and friendly. I think she is just a nice person.

I accidentally discovered a red light district on a previous visit, going back to my hotel late at night. Girls on every corner calling to me or grabbing my arm. “Solamente 20 dolares, Senor!” Later, I found out that the action didn’t start until after ten pm, which is why I had never noticed it before. I’m usually in bed by then, not roaming the streets. I doubt I’ll fall in love or lust with anyone here.

Food poisoning or getting sick from drinking the water are real possibilities. I already experienced a bit of that yesterday, I think from contaminated ice cubes at the movie theater. One eye infection bothered me for 3-4 days, maybe from the shower water. I try not to eat at restaurants or food stands that aren’t busy. That is a sign that food is likely sitting around too long or that others have gotten sick and didn’t return. And I make a point to use the restroom whenever one is available, just in case of stomach problems later. Keep the bowels empty and there will be less issues. Just eating once a day helps, too.

Overspending is my biggest danger. Not on things to keep, but on experiences. I’m tempted to upgrade to a nicer hotel with A/C and softer beds. I have the money in the bank, but am really trying to stay on budget, $2000 for the trip. If I’m wasteful now, I’ll regret it later. I doubt I’ll return to the camphost position or working at grocery stores. So my work future is uncertain.
Keeping my eating expenses down is easier with only eating a meal per day. But there are temptations everywhere. I smell marvelous odors when passing eating establishments. I have a lot of time on my hands, and eating is a way to fill some of that time. Ice cream shops are all over, and the same with food stands. If I walk through a large store, all kinds of munchies stand out to me. So, do I value my health, body image, and finances; or instant gratification?

Entertainment is another way to overspend. There are a half dozen theater multiplexes, showing all kinds of movies. And it’s almost impossible for me to sit through a movie without food and drink. That can add up quickly, if done often, not to mention ruining my diet. Books are expensive here, $5 and up for used paperbacks. Still cheap for how many hours of entertainment they give. But my budget is lean, so not more than 1-2 per week. English language newspapers are about double the price here and seldom worth getting.
I intend to visit other nearby towns on day trips. Bus fare is fairly low, but there might be additional costs like entrance into a botanical garden, a ride on a boat, souvenirs, food, and so on. Just need to keep the extras to a minimum and not do too many trips.
I’ve been to nightclubs, concerts, and stripclubs on previous trips. I rather doubt I’ll do any of those, this time. Maybe I’ve grown up, maybe I’ve become disillusioned. Stripclubs cost as much or more than ones in the US, and there are more dangers in the ones here. No thanks!There are free concerts and performances at the beaches every day. Maybe not the same quality of entertainment, but not bad and a good way to save money.

Boredom is also a danger. Twice in the past, I got bored and returned early from Mexico. I don’t think that’ll happen this time, but can’t be sure. If I’m truly that bored, I’ll spend a little more on pampering myself or go to another city like Mazatlan or Guadalajara to finish my trip out. Changing hotels or hostels could re-energize my vacation, also. So far, I’ve made no attempt to make friends. It’s been nice to have no accountability to anyone, doing and going where I want. That could change, especially if I go to a hostel. And I might get lonely, though I doubt that. I’m pretty self-sufficient.

Those are the primary dangers that I can think of. But it’s those that you fail to anticipate that are the most likely to strike. A mosquito bite that imparts a disease. An economic collapse in the US, leaving me with worthless money. A broken skull from a falling coconut. Sudden amnesia. Why worry, be happy!

Leave a comment