A Milestone

Five years on, I’ve attained 200 blog posts, 1000+ views, and 200+ unique individuals who have checked out my blog. That’s not a large amount on any of those figures, but that’s fine. This blog is primarily for my own amusement. Originally I planned to focus primarily on vandwelling and my adventures while traveling. But, in the seven years since I started living in my van (six full-time), I’ve actually spent more time being stationary, for work or various other reasons, than traveling. To be truthful, I don’t really have THAT many exciting occurrences to write about.
So, most of my posts have been about my work, people that I meet, and observations about life. I am the biggest fan and worst critic of this blog, and often go back to correct or update past posts. But most I leave alone to memorialize my thought process of that point in time.
I’m starting to travel again, after most of a year either working in California or staying around Salem, my home base. I’ve had medical issues tying me to my doctors in the Salem area, the last two winters. But that’s over, for now, so I’m heading to California, Arizona, Nevada, and Mexico, for the next two and a half months. Despite the current coronavirus worries. Until that is over, I’ll likely avoid most crowded places and personal contact.
When I began traveling in my van, it was scary but exciting. So much to see and do. I still had a little savings, in case of emergency. Going to the Rubber Tramp Rendezvous each winter helped me with on-the-road wisdom through the seminars and meeting others living like me. I discovered many places in the West that became favorite spots to return to, each year. I became more outgoing than I normally had been. So I chatted with a lot of random strangers and ended up in some weird situations at times. Examples; spending a few days in the California desert with a Puerto Rican female nudist, picking up a hitchhiker who then robbed me, discovering a gold mine and being shot at by a security guard there, having supper with a Thai woman who told me that I was fat but that she still wanted sex with me (I passed), walking thru the most dangerous part of Tijuana and living, meeting some interesting (and strange/dangerous) people in Slab City, experiencing the Venice Beach scene, and being invited to sleep in a sorta nest, next to a Mendocino pot field, with a hippie chick.
But I’ve become more reclusive for the last couple years and traveled much less. My various health issues played a part. I spent several months helping out my friend Kim, moving her and getting her settled into a new apartment, with a couple new jobs. Then she got murdered by her ex. I still grieve over her. My summer work requires me to be social with campers, so I don’t feel much like interacting with people the rest of the year. My finances have been tighter, because of medical and large vehicle expenses. And I’ve had more anxiety that has prevented me from taking risks.
I’m somewhat scared of what my future holds. My body doesn’t allow me to do as much anymore. My job is dependent on the whims of my employer and the economy. The US political and financial issues make the country’s future look grim. My van is getting old and I can’t afford to replace it any time soon.
Vandwelling has become too popular (or necessary) and is becoming a victim of that same popularity. Cities are stepping up efforts to outlaw us and force us out of all but the sketchiest of neighborhoods. Of course, way too many vandwellers have brought that upon all of us, with their bad behavior. Leaving trash and body excretions behind, criminal behavior, having poorly maintained vehicles, parking for weeks in the same spots, and so on. Fully half of my previous favorite places to overnight have been lost, due to others’ misbehavior. This causes me trouble, having to locate new locations to boondock or stealth-camp. I’m actually worried about where to go for the next few months. That is partly why I stayed in Salem this winter. I have a dozen places that I can overnight in without trouble, and several people have let me stay at their dwellings, on a temporary basis. Those are my security blankets, and make it difficult to leave. Other than some cold weather in the winter and occasional hot spells in the summer, Salem is a very comfortable and enjoyable place to be.
I don’t mean to be so negative. Much of life is still good. Even though I’ve become more reclusive, the time alone has been enjoyable. I study various subjects that interest me. I love getting lost in a good novel. My anxiety decreases when I’m alone. There is much online that is entertaining and useful. I’ve started to rebuild a small nest egg for emergencies, forcing myself to not touch it, no matter the temptation. And though my body has various problems, I’m still mobile and in better health than most my age. And my brain still works, for the most part.
I’m hopeful that my next 200 posts will have many tales of adventures and insightful musings within. And maybe I’ll finally get around to actually writing a book. Time will tell.

Leave a comment