What I Do Most Days At Work

My schedule and tasks will change some in a week or two, when I get transferred to Camp Nelson campgrounds. I’ll also be working an extra hour per day. I expect some more hard work getting those campgrounds looking good and making it through Memorial Day weekend.
Right now my typical day is 6 hours work, 3 in the morning and 3 in the later afternoon to evening. The tasks that have priority are, in order,

Collect money from campers and sign them in.
Fill out all paperwork accurately and promptly.
Sell firewood.
Collect trash from trash cans and take to dump.
Pick up firewood from mill.
Put out reservation placards.
Clean bathrooms.
Clean the rental cabin.
Improve the campground; clean fire pits, shovel debris off of pavement, rake campsites, blow away leaves and pine needles, pick up trash from ground.
Train Sam to replace me.
Interact with police, firemen, Forest Service, PG and E, etc.
Answer questions from campers.

Life will become simpler after heading to Camp Nelson next week. No more dealing with trash runs, training Sam, no rental cabin, no fetching firewood from the sawmill. So less stress and back in a familiar place that I know well. I’ll still be quite busy all summer. There will be a little more paperwork to do this year. I’m hoping the new camphost that works on my weekends does a better job than bearded Dan did last year, mainly on cleaning bathrooms and checking in campers.
But Debbie was emphatic that I was not to work any extra hours this year, paid or not. So I have to prioritize my tasks and be a bit more efficient. Likely the things that will decrease are, conversing with campers and not raking out campsites as often.

Leave a comment