Fasting

I started a fast after Christmas. Today is the fifth day, the longest fast that I’ve done in my life. I’ve done a few 2 day fasts and a 3 day one in the past. For some reason, I’ve had very few hunger pangs this time. But every time I’ve taken a drink of water, it tends to go right through me. So I bought some bouillon cubes to get salt into me. I’m going to have a couple servings per day. Ten calories per cube, so technically I’m not doing a complete fast anymore. But that’s alright, I’m not trying to impress anyone. I’ve also been drinking some green tea each day and popping a vitamin pill.

Not sure how long I’ll go. I’m kinda looking at 21 days but am taking it day by day. It would be nice to drop some weight, detox the body, and reset my relationship to food. It’ll be interesting to see how much weight I’ve lost. I didn’t weigh myself before starting, but I’m guessing I was about 186-7, maybe more with all that Christmas food. Today my weight was 182#.

I plan to try the ketogenic diet after breaking my fast. It is difficult to get the proportions exactly right, though. 75% fat, 20% protein, and 5% carbs, more or less. And not excessive calories. The hardest part is getting enough fats without going over on the others. I can’t really do much cooking or storing food without cooking facilities or a fridge. And foods with fats and proteins tend to cost more. Still researching for a keto diet that will work for me.

This is a fascinating experiment for me. I’m hoping that I won’t lose much muscle or start overeating when the fasting is done. Time will tell.

Leave a comment