New Friends

Last weekend was the most hectic so far, even busier than Memorial or 4th of July weekends. That was partly because of all the Yosemite refugees and because people are realizing summertime will be over before long. Many came for just one night, which means more labor and time per campsite.
I worked longer days and seldom sat down. Some of the folks coming in were more noisy at night and I had to get up several times and tell people to be quiet. But most of the campers were good people.
I talked with Tim and Tasha several times when I had a bit of free time. She’s has been researching vanlife for 3 years and wants to travel much like I do. But they will probably do it in a motorhome, because they want more space and extras than I have. That comes with it’s own set of advantages and problems. They checked out my van and saw how it works for me. Tasha had many questions and wanted to know about my experiences. So I shared the gospel of vandwelling with them.
Before they left, they gave me a bag of goodies, all stuff that I could use. A couple small bags of pancake mix, some fruit drinks, several munchies items, beans, and more. Also a new solar shower that’s better than mine! They also gave me a great homemade supper, too. But having good company for several days was the best. I like meeting people that you just click with. It gets lonely at times, being away from family and friends in Oregon, and making new friendships here helps me last the season.

Leave a comment